NYC : the full recap

It was in the middle of summer that Ariel & I decided that we could, should and WOULD be going to New York this fall. We spent an unbelievable amount of time trying to decide when the perfect time to go would be. We researched when the most tourists would be around (October & Thanksgiving week on – DUH. ), when the Christmas decorations would be up, when the weather wouldn’t be too warm, etc. etc. I think that it’s safe to say, as evidenced from the photos below, that we picked the perfect week to go. It was chilly, but not freezing. The leaves on the trees in the park were still intact and were beyond beautiful. There were tourists (like ourselves) but not too many. Except in Times Square, which was avoided as much as possible as soon as we figured that shit out.

Vacation recaps are so difficult. I’d love to write out every meticulous detail, and share every photo we took, but I think that would be just a bit much, no? I tried to narrow it down as much as possible so as to save you guys from boredom. You’re Welcome!

ps: If you missed part one & two, you’d best see those first! 

We spent a lot of time in Central Park. Atleast 5 hours walking everywhere in that beautiful place. While I liked the rushing people and the noise of the actual city, the park was really, really nice. Aside from the occasional smell of vomit, but what can you expect when you’re in NYC?
IMG_1360 IMG_1368 IMG_1461

10484298_10154816727645403_4091492262657947637_o

Can we just.. take a moment to look at that?! Freakin’ amazing. 

10633880_10154816727910403_3307847540380466850_o

IMG_1467

I learned very quickly that you don’t really have to do much planning in order to see things in NYC. Just throw on comfortable boots, a scarf, and head outside. Walk a few blocks and you are most likely to end up seeing something you’ve seen on TV, or on blogs, or in movies…Just EXPLORE! And that is exactly what we did.

IMG_1472 1491335_10154816766780403_5299140362518850132_o IMG_1474 IMG_1399

DSC04168 IMG_3294_2 DSC04247 DSC04377 IMG_3337_2 IMG_3364 IMG_3389_2

We loved the Museum of Natural History, the NY Public Library was absolutely insane ( I’m oddly such a geek for stunning architecture!), Rockefeller Plaza was amazing ( soooo wish the tree was lit!), Grand Central Station was smaller than we expected (?!) , I liked the Central Park Zoo, as long as I don’t think too hard about the animals stuck in a concrete jungle.

IMG_1478 IMG_1582

DSC04434 DSC04439 DSC04457

I fell even more in love with Seth Meyers when we went to a taping of Late Night. We got front row, and were about two feet from him when he came over to talk to producers during commercial breaks. He’s adorable & hilarious. The top of 30 Rock was incredible. It’s surprisingly quiet up there, the noise of the city is muffled, and I spent a lot of time just standing there & staring like an idiot. It was an awesome moment, and we went both in the daytime & at night, just because.

IMG_3487 10397056_10154816777750403_2363555865198352116_o

The Lion King on Broadway was incredible. The music and costumes were stunning, and I was surprised how closely it followed the movie. The Lion King has been Ariel’s favorite since she was a kid, and I’m soooo happy that she got to see it live. If/Then was my absolute favorite though. I honestly had no idea what the storyline of the play was going into it, I only bought tickets because I’d be damned if I was going to New York and didn’t see Idina Menzel on Broadway, but the plot of the play was moving, funny, heartbreaking, and thought provoking. The entire cast was spectacular, and I’m still amazed that a voice like that can come out of such a little person like Idina. I may or may not be plotting how I can get back to NYC asap and see as many shows as possible – I’ve loved theatre for so long, now I’ve got the bug and it’s all I want to do! I’ve had a lot of people ask me what my favorite part of my trip was, and I’d say the plays were my absolute favorite part.

The thing about travelling is that once you do it, it’s all you think about. Ever since I got back, all I can think about is where I’m going to go to next. I will be back to New York for sure, hopefully sooner rather than later. You can only experience a city for the first  time once, and I think I made my first time count.  I’ll stop with the photos & rambling now, kudos to you if you actually read all this & looked at all the photos!

Till next time, NYC.

Love you.

5 thoughts on “NYC : the full recap

  1. Ahhhh all your pics are amazing!!! You just made me miss nyc so badly….need to get back there soon! It’s beautiful to see all the lights around the holidays, but when you factor in all the tourists, I think you guys picked a better time to go. Slightly less crazy and the foliage is beautiful 🙂

  2. OH. MY. GAWWWD. those fall colors in central park.. SERIOUSLY. it looks like you were there right before winter officially hit the city, three cheers for that! it looks like you had an AMAZING time! and you got to do so many truly “new york” things. it’s an amazing place isn’t it?!? it’s so hard to describe it to people because it really is just so mind blowing on so many levels it’s hard to do it justice with words and even pictures sometimes. anywayyyy, i’m SOO glad you had a super time, darling!! 🙂 ❤

    • We really picked the perfect time to go, I was so happy! It really is amazing, and it is SO hard to describe it. I can’t do it justice when people ask me how my trip was, it was just that great 🙂

Leave a Reply

