that time I ate the entire city of new york

I love food.

Guess what place has a lot of really good food?

New York City.

I don’t have a lot of options for restaurants or cafes in my hometown. Seriously, the nearest Starbucks is 3 hours away. Of course, we have like 6 different fast food restaurants, but only 2 or 3 really good (read: non fast food) restaurants. So you should be able to see why I was really, really excited for the food in New York. And it did not disappoint. I’m pretty sure I ate maybe 3 servings of vegetables the entire 6 days we were there. I was a-okay with that. Past Jenna would have NOT been okay with that, but present Jenna totally is.

Because I really love food.

We tried to experience as many of the types of food New York is famous for as possible. I didn’t realize until the end of the trip that we actually had only went to ONE sit down restaurant, where we ordered a giant pizza. We also had dollar slices of pizza at 11pm after seeing The Lion King on Broadway. Truth: I kinda like the dollar pizza better.

Pizza

On our three hour drive home from the airport, Ariel and I made a list of everything we had eaten while we were there. It was an epic list, and I kind of regret not taking photos of everything we ate. The day I went back to work my boss told me I looked “tinier” than when I went to NYC. I actually told her it was all thanks to my pizza, croissant & milkshake diet. She laughed – but I was telling the truth. I worked out in our hotel room twice while we were in NYC – if you wanna call doing some planks & squats while Ariel showered “working out”. It was very, very freeing to really not give a fuck about working out or eating healthy food. I ate what I wanted, when I wanted. We walked so much every day that we were always starving come meal time.  I wanted to take advantage of the everything New York had to offer, and I’m glad I did. Sometimes you have to sacrifice health in order to just enjoy life. My advice to those wanting to stay “healthy” on vacation is to just say FUCK IT, walk everywhere instead of taking public transport, and eat ALL the food.

So we did what we do best, we ate ALL the food.

IMG_3386

sweet potato & black bean chili with quinoa/kale baked potato from Two Tablespoons

(I forget where we got the macaroons..somewhere in Bryant Park!)

IMG_3395_2

Ariel’s apple turnover & americano from Tisserie 

IMG_3396_2

My nutella croissant (O.M.G) & americano from Tisserie

IMG_3413_2

We picked up a red velvet cupcake (meh, it was ok) & a pumkin cheesecake (OMG SO GOOD) from Magnolia Bakery

(thanks for the suggestion, Kaitlin!)

 

IMG_3482_2

 

Roasted chesnut doughnut from Doughnut Plant

IMG_1482

Shroom’ Burger from Shake Shack

You MUST get a milkshake with your burger. And fries. MUST.

We walked 20 minutes in the pouring rain for Shake Shack and it was totally worth it.

 

IMG_1585

New Orleans Cold Brew iced coffee from Blue Bottle Coffee

This was LIFE CHANGING. I have been dreaming of this coffee since we had it.

We are ordering coffee beans from Blue Bottle ASAP.

IMG_1591

Vanilla & Blackberry Jam filled doughnut ( YES, PLEASE!)  from Doughnut Plant 

We also had 16 Handles frozen yogurt (so many options!), aforementioned pizza, coffee & bagels from Blue Dog Cafe right behind our hotel (highly recommend!), bagels from Ess-A-Bagel ( a religious experience. Cinnamon raisin bagel with chocolate chip cream cheese – holy crap!), Chipotle ( which we LOVE and there are none ANYWHERE near where we live.), and pastries from the deli/bakery down the street.

I realized we kind of missed a whole other thing by skipping sit down, fancy restaurants.

Next time, for sure.

For now? Please send me doughnut plant doughtnuts & bluebottle iced coffee, THANKS.

Favorite place to eat in NYC? Which city was your favorite, food wise?! 

2 thoughts on “that time I ate the entire city of new york

  1. Yes yes yes!!!! Vacations are so much more fun when you enjoy them like you guys did! My mouth is still watering from all of the goodness 🙂 We need to head to NYC sometime next year…it’s been a few years since I’ve been there and way longer for Joe, so I’m demanding a change in that 😉 Favorite city for food in recent years (besides Pittsburgh, which has really become quite a food city in the past 2-3 years) is Charleston…my favorite cheeseburger in the world is located in that place…we will go an hour out of our way if we’re anywhere in the vicinity to get it!

Leave a Reply

