a letter to my future self

DSC03486

 

Dear Future Jenna,

This letter is coming to you from Jenna of 10 years ago. 10 years is a really long time, and with so many variables, so many possible curveballs that life could throw you, so it was nearly impossible for me to write to you. I could tell you that I hope you’ve settled down with a nice husband, in a nice house, in a nice neighbourhood, with a nice kid or two. I could tell you that it’s my greatest wish for you to have a good paying job that allows you some financial freedom. However, in my opinion, all that really matters to me is that you’re happy.  I hope you’ve stuck true to yourself, and what you believe in. I hope you’ve become that strong, independent woman you’ve always aspired to be. I hope you love your job, and I hope it challenges and inspires you to be better, to be more. I hope you haven’t given up on your dreams, and I hope you’ve made the time to travel this world. I hope you’ve made the effort to maintain your friendships, because they are SO worth it. I hope you’ve been able to let go of fear and anxiety, and just lived your damn life to the fullest.

Sure, a nice husband, in a nice house, in a nice neighbourhood, with a nice kid or two would be exactly that: nice. But if that’s not what you decided you wanted, then I’m more than happy for you. Strive to live a happy and fulfilled life babe, cause’ that’s really all that matters.

Love you,

Your Younger Self

Helene in Between Blogtober
3 thoughts on “a letter to my future self

Leave a Reply

