10 things I wish I told myself….

Happy Monday!!

I hope everyone had a wonderful weekend, I know I did! I’m also super happy that the weather has turned around and we are back to sunshine/ Indian summer over here. It was gloomy all weekend, and while I can appreciate a good stormy day, my mood is significantly happier when the sun is shining! Today’s Blogtober prompt is 10 things I wish I told myself when I started blogging…

{ generic laptop/notebook/lame blogging photo found via tumblr}

1. The comparison trap is very real in the blogging world. Don’t get caught up in it. While the grass may look greener on the other side, your grass is equally as green, so be thankful for it!

2. You have to find your own voice. Don’t try to copy other blogggers’ writing style. Just be yourself, always.

3. Blogging takes up a significant amount of time. You can’t rush, because when you hurry to write and publish something, it will most likely be unsatisfying and you will hate it. Sometimes you won’t have the time, and that’s okay.

4. Never apologize for not posting. Don’t feel guilty for taking time away. Β This isn’t your full time job, so chill out!

5. Commenting on other people’s blogs is the way to make friends. People don’t magically find you, you have to put yourself out there and make friends!

6. Not everyone is going to like you, and that’s okay. You can’t please everyone, don’t take it personally.

7. You’re going to make some really good friends. There are some really wonderful people out there, cherish those friendships.

8. The free wordpress themes suck. If you’re going to stick to this, just invest in a good theme. ( Working on this. This theme is driving me cray. )

9. It’s your blog. Talk about what you want! Don’t be ashamed to talk about something you like.

10. You’re first posts are super embarrassing. It’s inevitable, it’s okay if you suck at this blogging thing at first. Everyone does.

Helene in Between Blogtober
10 thoughts on “10 things I wish I told myself….

  1. #4 – still working on that one. #5, this is why you’re one of my blogging besties which I makes me feel like I am so lame since it will transfer over to my real life. “All my best friends I have never actually met in person” #LOSERFORLIFE.

    • I’m still working on the majority of these! It’s hard to follow your own advice sometimes πŸ˜‰ hahaha you’re not lame at all!!! You’re the COOLEST in my eyes πŸ™‚ It’s so damn awesome the internet has opened up so many friendships for me. If you’re a #LOSERFORLIFE , then so am I !!

Leave a Reply

