my weekend on PEI

Happy Tuesday! 

I hope everyone had a wonderful long weekend, I know I did! This post is going to be excessively long and quite picture heavy, so I hope you’re ready! I was initally going to try and cut it down as much as possible, but then I considered the fact that one of the biggest reasons I blog is so I have something to look back on when I am older, so I’m going to include all the details, even if it’s mainly for my own good 😉

At an ungodly hour on Friday morning, Ariel and I packed up the car and started the long road trip to Prince Edward Island for the weekend. Neither of us had ever been to PEI before, so we were both really looking forward to it! We swung by Halifax and picked up my friend’s sister before completing the rest of the trip. The drive took about seven hours in total, and we got to drive across the Confederation Bridge! The Confederation Bridge links Nova Scotia and PEI, and is the longest bridge in the world that spans across ice covered water. It’s also ridiculously long, 8 miles, and has pretty amazing views that my little iPhone photos don’t do justice!

photo 1 (36) photo 2 (35)

Once we crossed the bridge into PEI, we still had about an hour or so of driving until we reached our destination of Charlottetown, but we got immediately distracted by the Cow’s Creamery right off the bridge. Cow’s ice cream is really famous, it was voted Canada’s best ice cream, and is made from 16% buttermilk fat. Thus meaning it is delicious and was by far the best ice cream I have ever eaten. I had a scoop of Birthday Cake, so good! 

photo 4 (18)

photo 3 (26)

Once we arrived at our hotel and got settled we decided to explore Charlottetown by foot for the evening. We walked around the waterfront, and through the festival grounds. PEI was celebrating 150 years of the founding of Confederation this past weekend, so there was plenty to see and do! I was amazed by how beautiful it was, such an adorable little town! The only downside was that it was freezing, so we only lasted a couple of hours of walking around outside before we had to call it quits.

photo 5 (15)

photo 1 (37) photo 2 (36) photo 3 (27) photo 4 (19) photo 5 (16)

photo 1 (38)

Fun fact: PEI is best know for 2 things – potatos and it’s red dirt (like the dirt in the photo above!). Even the sand on the beaches is red!

photo 2 (37) Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset photo 4 (20) photo 5 (17)

Friday night concluded with swimming at the hotel, a very late supper at Boston Pizza, and a late night Shania Twain dance party & twerking practice. Don’t ask, just know it was hilarious. 

Saturday morning my friend Corry & his mom joined us at the hotel, and we got ready, grabbed breakfast, and headed out to the event grounds where the Shania Twain concert was to be held that evening! We arrived at the grounds around 12, and saw that there were already some people in line, so we immediately took our spot near the front of the line! They weren’t letting people into the grounds until 4:30, and the concert didn’t start until 7. So yes, we stood in line for 4 1/2 hours! Totally freaking worth it, as you will see!  We killed time by listening to Shania do her sound check, taking turns going for walks for bathroom breaks and food, playing hangman, and uh, Corry took a nap on the ground, surrounded by people. Don’t ask me how he fell asleep, but he was dead to the world for awhile there!

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Our long wait was rewarded by scoring front row at the concert. I honestly had no expectation whatsoever to get front row, so I was beyond excited that we did! 

photo 3 (29)

The time from 4:30-7 went by extremely slowly, I was soo excited for the concert to start! My legs were also starting to get tired at that point. They had an excellent DJ that played good country music during that time though, so it wasn’t too bad! A musician by the name of Trinity Bradshaw opened first.

photo 4 (21)

I had never heard of her before, but she was really great! She had an awesome sassy country twang to her, and it was clear how happy she was to be there! She played mostly her own music, and this was my favorite !

Truthfully, I hadn’t even checked prior to the concert who was opening for Shania. I only found out on the day of the concert that it was Corey Hart opening for her! Sunglasses at Night anyone? He played a lot of good, classic 80s rock and his set flew by. 

DSC03567 DSC03612 DSC03667

After Corey’s performance, a whole bunch of workers came onstage to clear out the excess instruments and platforms for Shania. I should probably start by saying that Shania Twain has been my all time favorite singer since I was about 7 years old. I refused to listen to anything but her albums from the ages of 7-14, I know all the words to every single song, and her songs are my go-to songs for whenever I’m feeling unhappy. Essentially, this concert was a childhood dream come true and I just about died of excitement when she finally came on stage. 

I have actually never been to a large scale concert before in my life, but she set the bar so high I don’t think I will ever see one as good as the one she put on Saturday night. She essentially brought her Vegas show (minus the horses) to PEI. The costumes, the videos, the dancers were all beyond incredible. Her voice was spot on, she was funny and engaged the audience,  and she made sure to use the entire stage during her performance. Also, she is ridiculously beautiful, and was literally 5 feet away from me. Crazy!

DSC03692 DSC03703 DSC03763 DSC03794 DSC03830 DSC03850 DSC03877 photo 1 (40)

All credit for the concert photos go to my BFF, Ariel. She took about 300 photos, which I am so thankful for because God knows I was shaking too bad to take anything decent. I’m still unsure as to whether I was shaking from excitement, cold, exhuastion, or hunger! The concert ended around 11, and then came the worst part : getting out of the event ground surrounded by 22,000 people. For someone who has a big fear of getting lost in a large crowd, it was kind of my worst nightmare. However, the whole group of us was pretty giddy from what we just saw, so we made it out okay. We got back to the hotel around midnight, ate a midnight supper/snack of sushi, and then fell asleep with Man, I Feel Like A Woman stuck on permanent repeat in my head.

We unfortunately had to leave PEI pretty early Sunday morning, as Ariel had to work a night shift that night (she’s crazy). I found the ride home was so much shorter than the ride there, and it flew by. Pretty views, cupcakes, and reminiscing about the previous night helped.

photo 3 (30) photo 4 (22)

While we didn’t really get the full PEI experience due to lack of time, I still loved what I did get to see. Ariel and I are already planning to go back as soon as we can! We didn’t get to do Anne of Green Gables or even visit a beach! We also didn’t get to eat at any fun restaurants, we simply ran out of time. I don’t regret spending the whole day waiting in line though, it was completely worth it! 

Two weekends in a row of long road trips made me realize two things : 1) I love travelling so much. 2) I love being home just as much. I’m excited to have a fairly normal week, followed by  chill weekend at home to recuperate. This weekend was an awesome way to end my summer, that’s for sure! 

Here’s to an amazing September!

What did you do this weekend?

What’s the best concert you have ever been to?! I’m super curious about this one!

Leave a Reply

