recap : the 2014 emmy awards

 

 

 

 

 

Happy Tuesday!

Most of you probably know that The Emmy’s were on last night. I’ve said it once, but I’ll say it a million times more: I. freaking. love. award. shows. The Golden Globes are my favorite, but the Emmy’s run a close second because they are all about television, and God knows I love television. Award shows always make me realize how many shows I need to be watching. However, let’s start with my picks for best dressed shall we?

 

1. Julia Roberts 

2. Sarah Hyland 

3. Allison Williams 

4.  Julie Bowen

 5. Amy Poehler – I may be biased but this was my absolute favorite look. Obsessed with the hair. 

 6. Lizzy Caplan

I was extremely disappointed by Kerry Washington’s choice of dress. She usually kills it on the red carpet, but I’m not digging this look at all.

 Also, Lena Dunham and Sarah Paulson made me cringe. 

I really liked Seth Meyers as a host. It wasn’t the most exciting Emmy’s I have ever seen, but it definitely wasn’t the worst. I thought the opening monologue was pretty strong, and true to the type of comedian Seth is. I loved the way he introduced Amy as the first presenter.

And this, just yes.

I actually filled out an Emmy ballot this year with my predictions, and I didn’t do half bad. I accurately predicted Breaking Bad sweeping the Drama category (deservedly). I was thrilled with Julianna Marguiles’ win, Anna Gunn’s win, and Bryan Cranston’s beautiful speech. 

Also, when he kissed Julia Louis-Dreyfus when she won? Hilarious

The Billy on the Street video killed me. SO hilarious. 

Other highlights include Gwen Stefani pulling a John Travolta and fucking up the pronunciation of Colbert Report, a slightly weird but rather funny performance by Weird Al, way too many “alright, alright,alright” jokes, and an extremely touching Robin Williams tribute by Billy Crystal. It was a really, really touching and beautiful tribute to a wonderful man.

And that’s it! I usually do much longer recaps but I am super short on time this week! I also haven’t responded to comments from last week yet, but I promise I will get to it! This week is craziness! 

Did you watch the Emmys? What were your favorite moments? Your choice for best dressed?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “recap : the 2014 emmy awards

  1. LOVED bryan cranston’s speech and billy crystal’s introduction of the robin williams tribute was so touching. billy on the street..OMG i was laughing hysterically! “you’re a lesbian do you watch orange is the new black?” “yes i watch it, but i’m not a lesbian.” bahahahahahaha. also our worst dressed are literally identical.

Leave a Reply

