unplugged weekend

photo 1 (34) photo 2 (33)

 

photo 3 (24)

photo 5 (14)

 

Happy Monday!!

I hope everyone had a great weekend, I know I did! 

Jules had a really great post last week about unplugging. While the majority of posts I’ve read about unplugging from technology are about how it is necessary (which I think it is at times), and how everyone should do it, I appreciated Jules’ presentation of what I, and most likely a lot of other people, are thinking. While I can appreciate the fact that unplugging is a great thing, I am torn – I also love being connected with people all of the time. It has allowed me to form relationships that I otherwise never ever would have had the opportunity to form. 

However, this weekend was the first time in awhile I truly unplugged for a bit- and it was great! On Saturday afternoon I headed out to the woods, at my family’s lakeside cottage. A bunch of my friends joined me around suppertime, and we had an amazing evening just talking and drinking around a campfire. However, for most of Saturday afternoon I was all by myself out there. There is virtually no cell service out there, so after snapping a couple photos, I turned my phone off for the rest of the day. I sat in the sun and read my book. No music, no cell phone distractions, and just the sounds of the lake and birds. It was definitely the most relaxed I’ve felt in a really long time. 

It was also really great that all my friends weren’t glued to their phones all night either. It’s been said a million times in a million articles, how this generation is missing out on so much because when a group of people hang out together they are not truly paying attention to what the other people are saying because they are distracted by their phones. Sometimes it’s true, and sometimes it’s not, but I will admit it was nice not to have any phones around. 

By Sunday afternoon I was ready to return to the real world, but felt refreshed from the momentary breather from social media and my phone. I liked the temporary break, but I also don’t think my phone/social media “addiction” is truly hindering my life in any way. I’m fascinated by how far technology has come, and I appreciate it. 

Do you think unplugging is overrated?

What did you do this weekend?!

 

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “unplugged weekend

  1. I love weekends like this 🙂 I typically unplug a bit during the weekend (I don’t post or comment, don’t spend time on twitter, and I only peek on fb or Instagram once a day at most), and I like it that way. I still see what my friends are up to and stay connected that way without the added pressure of my weekly stuff. Works well for me 🙂

  2. I think that unplugging for the weekend sounds fabulous! I need to do that more often. Sometimes I’ll do a mini unplug where I leave my phone in another room for the night. If technology is in front of me, I’ll look at it, but if I make a conscious effort to leave it behind for a couple of hours, it definitely feels nice.

  3. The last few Fridays, I’ve been heading to the pool and leaving my phone at home. It’s only an hour or two, but it’s so nice to sit in the sun and read a book completely uninterrupted. I don’t think it’s necessary to go full days or weekends without it, but it’s a great feeling to be alone with your thoughts sometimes. My friends and I have also had parties where we’ve left the phones in a pile on a table (until it’s time to take our group pictures, of course!) and it’s so nice to just be in the moment with each other.

    • That’s awesome! Even a few hours definitely feels nice 🙂 I went out for dinner with a few friends last night and we all made a conscious effort to not look at our phones – it felt so nice!

Leave a Reply

