the perfect summer weekend

Happy Monday!

I hope you all had a wonderful weekend, I know I did! In fact, I was an excellent blogger this weekend and took a ton of photos, so I hope you are ready for a marvelous, photo filled post. 

Friday started off wonderfully, with a sunny 5k run morning run. I had a really, really long work day on Thursday, and thus had a super easy work day on Friday. I had the chance to sleep in a little bit, eat a good breakfast, and then head out on a run. It was hot and sweaty, but I feel like I’m finally getting my running groove back. 

photo 1 (29) Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

You know those women who look sweaty yet perfectly put together without a hair out of place after they finish running? I’m not one of those women. The look on Rosie’s face cracks me up,  I swear she loves me, despite her less than enthused expression.

 Friday evening marked the end of GISHWHES, so most of the day was spent running around, trying to get as many of the tasks done at the last minute. We did some weird stuff. Also, some not so weird stuff. One of the not so weird tasks included getting my grandmother to teach us how to knit. She hates having her photo taken, but she took one for the team. I adore her.

photo 1 (31)

The was the last normal item on the list. Shit got kinda weird after that.

photo 3 (22)

All in all it was pretty good way to spend a Friday night. 

I had to work Saturday morning, and since I went to bed super late Friday night, I woke up exactly thirty minutes before I had to be at work. Cue panic. Luckily I only had to be at work for a couple hours, so it didn’t really matter that I didn’t brush my hair. 

Saturday afternoon was spent riding the ponies with Ariel. One of my absolute favorite ways to spend a Saturday afternoon

DSC03486.JPG
DSC03413.JPG
DSC03474.JPG
DSC03412.JPG
DSC03462.JPG
DSC03445.JPG
Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

After riding, we went into town and picked up Subway for dinner, and ingredients to make white chocolate blondies. Fun fact: I hadn’t had Subway in over three years, since I became a vegetarian. I used to be super picky about my vegetables, so I thought I wouldn’t be satisfied by a veggie sub. I’ve become much more adventurous when it comes to vegetables in the last year, so I finally decided I would eat a veggie sub. Now all I want are veggie subs. I’m weird!

We spent the evening watch Game of Thrones, the movies Neighbours (helloooo Zac Efron’s abs), and drinking. 

Sunday was another beautiful day, so naturally we decided to head to the beach. 

photo 1 (30)

photo 5 (12)

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Truth: I’ll never understand people who go to the beach just to lie there on blankets in the sun. YOU’RE MISSING THE BEST PART OF THE BEACH. Ya gotta go jump around in the waves! Even though its freezing, you just gotta run straight in and let yourself go numb. You regain feeling in your extremities about five minutes after you get out, I promise. 

The rest of Sunday was spent walking puppies, brushing ponies, watching more Game of Thrones (we are obsessed right now, and I’m about to start reading the book as well!), and watching Divergent for a second time. 

 

All in all I had an awesome weekend, and for once I have a pretty chill Monday ahead of me. This never happens, so I’m going to take advantage of it!

 

Best part of your weekend?

Do you like to tan at the beach or go swimming?

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “the perfect summer weekend

  1. if i could write up a perfect weekend this would probably be pretty close..with the addition of a baseball game and church. and i already told you, but i have to tell you again that my hat envy is through the roof right now. and you are totally rocking it!!

  2. What a lovely weekend! Sounds like it started fabulously, too, with some sleeping in and a run! I’m with you on the needing to go in the water at the beach…otherwise what’s the point of going there? You can lay out in your backyard if you want some sun!

  3. Sounds like such an awesome weekend!! SO jealous you were knitting. I miss it so much. I went super crazy one summer and knit so much that I have permanent nerve damage and muscle issues in my left shoulder. I am an 80 year old!

    • HAHAHA really?! I don’t mean to laugh at your pain but thats pretty freaking hilarious. My grandmother can’t knit much anymore either, because of her arthritis, but she’s still a damn good teacher 🙂

      • I know, Jamie often laughs at me for it.. And so did my doctor.. When it rains my shoulder aches much like old people and their joints. haha. I can’t help but laugh!! If you knit too much and get a muscle strain – don’t pop muscle relaxants and keep knitting and fighting through the pain, that is how the nerve damage begins haha…. I am also not a pill popper who lived in muscle relaxants that sounded a little weird..

Leave a Reply

