weekend in Halifax

Happy Monday everybody!

What. A. Weekend. 

As I mentioned in my last post, I took a little road trip up to the city ( Halifax) with Ariel from Thursday – Sunday. It was an awesome weekend, and even though I have a to-do list the length of my arm ( am I the only one that happens to when you get home from a road trip?) I’m going to take you guys through my weekend!

We left for Halifax on Thursday afternoon. It’s about a three and a half hour drive to Halifax from where I live, and it was pretty uneventful. I hate driving though, so I consider myself pretty lucky that Ariel really likes driving, so she split the drive 50/50 with me, even though she just got off a 12-hour night shift a few hours prior! 🙂

We got to the city around suppertime, grabbed some food at Pita Pit ( I really, really wish we had one where I live!) And then we went for a nice long walk at one of my favorite places in the city : Point Pleasant Park.

photo 1 (26) photo 1 (27) photo 2 (26) photo 3 (19)

Point Pleasant is a large dog park/ walking trail park in the city that is a nice change of scenery from the concrete and buildings of the city. If you take a less traveled path, you can get right on the water like Ariel and I did. It was an absolutely beautiful evening, and Ariel and I sat on the rocks watching the sailboats and listening to the waves hitting the shore for a good hour or so. It was an awesome way to start the weekend. As you can tell from our cheesy grins, we were pretty happy!

We then headed to meet up with our friend whose apartment we stayed at, and I got ready to go out to meet a friend who I hadn’t seen it awhile. It’s always nice to catch up with friends, and I got back to the apartment around midnight, before crashing hard on the couch. 

Friday morning we all got breakfast with the aforementioned friend at this amazing vegan restaurant/cafe called The Heartwood Cafe. I actually went there both Friday and Saturday, it was that good. They don’t have many breakfast/ brunch options, and only serve them on the weekend, so on Friday I got the black bean/quinoa burger and it was the best veggie burger I have ever had, hands down. Unfortunately I forgot to snap a photo, but I did get a photo of my vegan waffles from Saturday’s brunch there!

photo 1 (28)

One of my favorite parts of visiting the city is definitely the extensive food/restaurant options. I just love good food, and I must say that Halifax has a really wide range/variety of different restaurants. I have barely touched the surface of the options available! 

We spent most of Friday shopping ( the shopping in my town is terrible, so when I shop in Halifax, I mean I SHOP.) Friday evening we went out with some of our friends to a house party, before parting ways with them as they went to a rave and we went back to the apartment to relax. Shopping is exhausting to me, and spending the night being pushed around by high, sweaty people in flashing lights and loud music just wasn’t something I felt like doing. I’m extremely old, I know. 

Saturday brought more brunch, shopping, and wandering around the city with Ariel. We went to the public gardens, which is another one of my favorite places in the city.

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

On Saturday afternoon, the list for GISHWHES was released. I mentioned GISWHES in my previous post, but in case you didn’t read my last post, GISHWHES is this giant, week long international scavenger hunt that my friends and I are participating in. The list of things we have to do/ find is absolutely insane. For example, this is one of the tamer to do items on our list:

Assemble a puzzle with a minimum of 50 pieces in one sitting. The video must show the box with more than 50 pieces and then you putting the puzzle together. For ease of assembly you must be wearing wool mittens or gloves throughout the assembly of the puzzle.

Thus, Saturday night Ariel and I ordered pizza, made a quick trip to the liquor store, and spent Saturday evening brainstorming ideas of how we can accomplish these tasks, with some Mindy Project for background noise. I love simple nights like this, and this scavenger hunt is definitely testing our creativity, so it was a really fun night in!

photo 2 (27)

Sunday morning we packed everything up, and headed home after grabbing some iced coffee. The drive back home is always kind of depressing, the weekend seemed to fly by so quickly! However, I am glad to be home and eat normal food again. As much as I love trying new restaurants in the city, my body always thanks me when I return home to my normal diet. I’m still dreaming about those waffles though. 

On Sunday evening we got together with our friends to knock off a couple items off the scavenger hunt list, and it was kind of crazy. I’ll probably mention the scavenger hunt a few times this week, as it will be a major part of my life this week. I’ll leave you with one final picture, of my friend sporting a fashionable TP dress, as was necessary for the scavenger hunt! Creative, no?

photo 3 (20)

What did you do this weekend?

Have you ever done a big scavenger hunt before?! 

3 thoughts on “weekend in Halifax

  1. Hahaha that is an awesome dress that you guys constructed!! I’ve seen people make wedding dresses out of toilet paper at bridal showers, but I’ve never seen just a random dress before haha. Looks good 🙂 This weekend looks like a blast! Good food, lots of exploring favorite places and hanging out with friends….doesn’t get much better! I’m with you, though….the thought of going to a race makes me want to cry at the thought of how much sleep I would lose

  2. Pingback: weekend in Halifax

Leave a Reply

