one year of blogging

20140526-100635.jpg

Happy Monday!

I’m a little late on this, but life was so busy last week I barely had time to breathe,  nevermind blog. And that’s okay!

May 17th marked my one year blogging anniversary!

I spent a few minutes sifting through my oldest posts, the ones from when I first started blogging. I’d link to them here, but damn are they ever embarrassing. I was one awkward baby blogger. While I do admit I tend to still remain awkward at times, I like to think that I have come a long way in my writing since the beginning. I really wasn’t sure what to expect when I started blogging. I wasn’t sure if I would stick with it. I had attempted blogging a couple times before, and it just hadn’t stuck.

I think it’s stuck on me now.

I started this blog with the intention of having a creative outlet. I’m not naturally a creative person. Any type of creativity is a real struggle for me. However, I absolutely adore reading. I had (and have) so much admiration for beautiful writers. I wanted to be a writer. I wanted to be better at writing, and practice makes perfect, right? So I figured that if I started a blog, I would force myself to write, and then maybe, eventually come to enjoy it?

Furthermore, I wanted something to look back on in ten years. A little corner of the Internet that keeps my everyday thoughts, my photos, and my current life happenings all safely tucked away so that when I’m thirty, or fourty, I can look back and see what I was doing.

Little did I know that I’d also form friendships here. Making friends over the Internet has always both fascinated and intimidated me. I was in awe of the wonderful friendships that I saw other bloggers making, and I wanted to do that too, but I had literally no idea how to go about doing it. I’m shy, and not generally one to spark up a conversation with a stranger. However, the blogging community is the nicest. I’ve been lucky enough to come across only the kindest of people, and for that I am beyond thankful.

There are days when I wonder what the eff I am doing with this blog. I wonder what the point of it all is. Sometimes I forget about the reasons that I started a blog. I get swept up in comparing myself with other bloggers, who do sponsored posts, who have thousands of readers, who get hundreds of comments, and all kinds of free stuff. I become envious of those people, and thus place pressure on myself to figure out how to be a better blogger.

Then, all of a sudden I realize I cannot do it all. At this point in my life, I do not have the time to put more effort into blogging. I don’t have time to learn how to code to make my layout prettier. I don’t have the extra money to pay for a designer to make me a header photo. I don’t have the energy to come up with original posts 5x a week. Maybe someday. But for now? I’m going to put more effort into staying true to the two original reasons I started a blog : become a better writer. create a virtual scrapbook. and third, make friends.

I have also come to realize that my blog doesn’t really fit into any sort of blog “genre”. I talk about running, but I wouldn’t consider myself a running or fitness blogger. I love food, but I can’t create a recipe to save my life, so I am not a food blogger. I’m definitely not a fashion blogger, as my idea of fashion is running shorts, unicorn sweaters, and Converse. Am I a lifestyle blogger? I have no idea, as I don’t really know what a “lifestyle” blogger is. I’m just me. Writing about what I like. Posting photos of what I do. And word vomiting all over the place about whatever is clunking around in my head at the moment. I’m a living outside the box kinda blogger, and I like it.

So here’s to my first year of blogging, and to hopefully many more years to come. Thank you all, genuinely, from the bottom of my heart, for reading and commenting, and befriending me. It’s funny how a simple little comment can make my entire day.

6 thoughts on “one year of blogging

Leave a Reply

