bluenose weekend!

Happy Monday!!

So… This weekend.

Was.

Amazing.

20140518-211103.jpg

This is going to be a kind of lengthy recap, I’m warning you now!

Let’s start with Friday. I woke up at 6:30am and went for a quick run before breakfast. Which deserves to be documented for two reasons:
1. I NEVER run before breakfast
2. I NEVER run that freaking early.

I’m glad it was only a short run. I just felt antsy and it calmed me down a bit, but damn early morning running is not my thing.
I worked until mid afternoon, and then we were off on the three hour drive to the city. Everytime I visit Halifax I am reminded by how much I miss it. I miss being able to walk everywhere, the endless restaurants, all the things to do, and the hot guys. Mhm. It’s a valid reason to miss a place, right?!

20140518-211723.jpg

We had a low key Friday night. We went to an amazing burger place for a late dinner, and then went back to the apartment and watched a million episodes of Say Yes To The Dress. It was perfect. It’s been awhile since I’ve seen my other best friend, so all three of us hanging out together made me so happy.

We slept in a bit Saturday morning, then went to pick up our race bibs and check out the expo.

20140518-212150.jpg

I LOVE the race shirts. I loved the color, pink for both men and women. The fit is pretty flattering, and they are made of awesome material! Super happy with them!
20140518-212724.jpg

At 2pm we made our way downtown so my friends could run the 5k. It was their first race ever, and I cannot even begin to explain how proud I am of both of them. I’m so happy I got to be with them to support them! Even though I did miss Ariel crossing the finish line because a lady who was running collapsed right in front of me.

20140518-212633.jpg
20140518-213639.jpg

It was a beautiful day,although it was a bit chilly waiting around.

Totally worth it though. They both did awesome, both finishing under 33 minutes!!

After they got their medals we walked back to the apartment, showered, ate pizza, then hit the shopping mall.

I find shopping to be fantastic in theory, but in reality I kinda hate it. I wish someone would pick out all my clothes for me, without me even having to try them on. In a perfect world.

Confession : I’m kind of obsessed with overalls. They are everywhere… And I found this pair, that I loved. But left them at the store…and can’t stop thinking about them.

20140518-214129.jpg
I have issues?
( totally thinking about buying them online )

I insisted on having froyo as my pre race treat. I wish I had gotten a picture of it, but trust me, it was the best frozen yogurt I’ve ever had in my life.
The rest of Saturday night was spent on the couch watching The Guilt Trip and falling asleep around 11.

My race started at 8:50am, but I was wide awake at 6:30am. I ate a bagel, got dressed, and anxiously waited around while my friends got dressed and ready to go. It was recommended that we be there an hour before the race, which probably wasn’t necessary, but I was so nervous I just wanted to get out of the apartment!

We watched the half marathoners start, and then I parted from my friends and got in line! I think the twenty minutes prior to starting were the most nerve wracking of my life. I just wanted to GO.

There were 3400 people (!!!) running the 10k with me, but I had decided to start in the first wave, and got as close to the front as possible. They had pace bunnies for a 50minute, 55minute, and 1 hour race. I was way ahead of the 55minute pace bunny, mostly because in my head I really wanted to get as close to a 50minute race as possible.

As the start time got really close, I repeatedly reminded myself not to start off too fast…
Then the gun went off and all coherent thoughts went out the window. It only took me about 20seconds to cross the start line, but for the first minute or two it was pretty crowded in front of me, and I almost tripped over a couple of people.

And I was going too fast.

I KNEW I was going too fast, and I KNEW I couldn’t keep up the pace for the whole race but I couldn’t slow down! The first two and a half kilometres were pretty flat, with a nice, long downhill near the 2km mark.
And then we crossed the bridge.

I trained pretty hard on hills, soΒ running up and over the bridge wasn’t too bad. And it was a pretty slow but steady downhill coming off the other side of the bridge.

Then we climbed another (much steeper) hill.

I survived though, and was pretty happy that kept up a good pace the whole uphill, slowing down only a bit at the top to catch my breath. After the hill I thought I was in the clear for a bit, but no. The hills were pretty steady up and down, but there were a ton of spectators along this portion, so it was entertaining and encouraging to see all these wonderful strangers cheering us on.

Everything was fine and dandy with the rolling hills until we headed back over the bridge. The slow and steady downhill coming off the bridge the first time turned out to be a bitch coming back up. I came SO close to walking, but kept tricking myself by telling myself I could walk at x point and then never actually allowing myself to walk. It felt like my legs were lead and I couldn’t get my breath, but I finally got to the top and was treated to the downhill on the other side.

And then there was one last hill.

The hill that killed me. I was running ( what seemed to be) so slow that I might as well have been crawling. I ended up walking for about twenty seconds 3/4 of the way up the hill. And then I kicked myself in the ass and started again. I don’t regret walking, even though I had a goal NOT to walk at all.

Once I finished that last hill, I was golden. I knew the finish line was close, and there was a nice downhill before a slow slope upward to the finish line. I felt so strong up that last slow slope, and even sprinted a bit at the finish line.

I crossed in 52:08.

Some people look pretty while running.
I am NOT one of those people..

(I’m the one in the unicorn shirt, obviously)

20140518-220302.jpg

I was SO happy to see that time crossing the finish line. I crossed the finish, received my medal, and then headed into the convention centre for chocolate milk, bananas, and other free stuff.
I checked my splits on the app on my phone and found out that I really did start out too fast. I ran the first kilometre in 3:38! Normally I run 5-5:15/km. I was shocked. I didn’t even know I was capable of that. I think I had a total of 4km under 5minutes and my slowest was 5:36. Insane what thousands of people running & cheering around you can do!

20140518-220617.jpg

20140518-220634.jpg

 

Overall it was an awesome experience. There was over 16,000 runners there over the weekend! I believe there were 2 youth runs of 2k & 4k, as well as a 5k on Saturday, and a 10k, half, and full marathon on Sunday. Everything was super well organized, and every race started exactly on time. The only thing was my running app said the route I ran was a little over 10k, about 10.5km actually.

And then came brunch. I was starving after, which usually doesn’t happen, so we went to an awesome breakfast spot called Cora’s.

And yes, I ate everything on the plate below. No regrets.

20140518-220652.jpg

 

I was surprised by how exhausted I was after the excitement of finishing wore off. I napped for about 45minutes in the car as we drove back home, I could not keep my eyes open! I also had a splitting headache by the time we got back home, but it could’ve been caused by a million different factors so I’m not blaming it on the race. I woke up this morning surprised that I didn’t feel sore at all, considering I didn’t really stretch properly until late last night.

Overall it was an amazing weekend, and I’m really sad that it is over.

And yes, I am already signed up for another race πŸ˜‰

 

Have a good Monday everyone!

What is your favorite distance to race?

Your favorite race you have ever run?

14 thoughts on “bluenose weekend!

  1. Nice! I’m pretty much as obsessed with sneakers as you are with overalls πŸ™‚ Just go back and get them – I won’t tell! Great race and I love that medal!!

  2. Ahhhhhh what an amazing weekend!!! I was so so so happy and excited to see your tweet yesterday! I know how hard you worked, and it’s always wonderful to see hard work pay off πŸ™‚ what race are you signed up for next?? My current fav race distance is the half, but I do love 10ks too πŸ™‚

  3. So proud of you! What an accomplishment! I ran my FIRST half marathon a couple weeks ago. It was Grandad Bluff and literally I thought I was going to die. The only thing that kept my mind off the fact that I felt like I was dying were the views. I live in a city known for the views and of course this is a bluff marathon so you get a great view the entire time. People come from all over just to run this one. I got a nice piece of hardware for finishing so I was pretty happy.
    I’m also really happy you wore a unicorn shirt. Just makes me smile.
    I treated myself to alot of wine afterwards so I’m pretty sure it defeated the purpose of running. But whatever.
    Xoxo!

    • How did I not know you were training for a half?!! That freaking amazing girl! You’re a superstar! That sounds like an awesome race, I love me a good view πŸ™‚
      You earned that wine girl! treat yo self πŸ˜‰

      • Haha I wouldn’t go that far! It’s super hard for me and my legs hate me lately. But it was something I told myself I need to try. I’m never going to be a true runner like alot of people on here but hey I can try it out. If you ask me to do a standing back flip now that I can do. I’m a gymnast. Runner, not so much!

  4. Don’t you love it when hard work pays off? Congratulations on a race well done. So proud of you, girl!! My favorite race I’ve ever run was probably my first half in Atlantic City, NJ along the boardwalk with my husband. We ran it the whole way together & crossed the finish line holding hands (pictures of it as well). It was perfect!

    • Thanks girl! It’s such a satisfying feeling to accomplish something I worked so hard for πŸ™‚ That race sounds awesome! I LOVE when couples do the hand hold finish line crossing, I think it is adorable! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

