playing catch up

Happy Monday!!

It’s been awhile since I’ve really talked about what’s happening in my oh so exciting life so I thought I would take this lovely Monday and do a catch up/ photo dump. Lucky you guys! ๐Ÿ˜‰

photo 2 (13) photo 3 (9)

First off, let me start by saying how freaking awesome it is to have all my friends home. It’s weird to me that I now have plans nearly every night. I’m used to coming home from work, doing horse chores, and then watching TV most the night, with Ariel if I’m lucky. The past two weeks though? Ice cream dates, evening walks with a bunch of my friends, movie nights, it’s been awesome. Last Saturday I had a bunch over for drinks/ games. I feel pretty lucky that my group of friends agrees with me that playing card/board games at someone’s house is their idea of a wild night. If you’ve never played Cards Against Humanity before, I suggest you get your hands on a game and play. Unless you are easily offended, because it gets hilariously offensive at times.I already have plans for this coming weekend for Fishbowl Friday and a big birthday party on Saturday night, PLUS my other best friend is coming home for the weekend!

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

The self serve frozen yogurt place in my town FINALLY opened up. This is a major life event for me. ย The damn “coming soon” sign has been up since February, and I had been disappointed every time I drove past it, until last week when it finally opened. It is a pretty small place, and while it doesn’t have the options that were available in the shops I went to in Vegas & LA, it’s good enough that I have already been twice since it opened. Ice cream is one of my favorite parts of summer, to be honest, so since I have eaten ice cream probably 5-6 times in the past two weeks, it finally feels as though winter is truly over. Thank. Baby. Jesus. I also learned that posting a picture of froyo on Instagramย will get you an oddly high amount of likes.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

This photo is completely unrelated to running, which is what I want to talk about, my Rosie is just so cute and fluffy I had to post it. On Saturday morning I did my last 10k run before my race. I did it in almost the exact same time as the last one, which was honestly kind of disappointing. I started out really strong. The weather was perfect (or so I thought), and I was rested. I think what ruined me around the 7k mark was I didn’t have water. It was my first long run in the sun/warmer weather and I could feel myself getting dehydrated around the 5k mark. I had to take a couple walking breaks (which I didn’t have to do last time) because my mouth was so dry. I’m assuming there is going to be water stops along the way in the race itself, but I will probably (begrudgingly) bring my hand held water bottle just in case. Two weeks until the race, and I’m already nervous. Eeek. I think that this race will be the deciding factor as to whether or not I want to start training for a half marathon. Some days I’m super motivated about it, and then after Saturday’s run I was questioning as to why the flying fuck anyone ever puts themselves through the torture that is running.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

photo 4 (7)Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Pony picture spam! People on Instagram also seem to like photos of horses flipping their upper lip up. It’s something Pearl does every single time I go to put her bridle on. I’m not really sure why she does it, but it’s funny. I also find it funny how she likes to nap with her head resting on the ground. My other horse will lay flat out on her side, and sometimes when I look out at her, it looks like she’s dead and it scares the shit out of me.

Anyway, Saturday was so beautiful outside I had to ride. I had planned to ride Friday night after work as well, but I couldn’t muster the energy up. Which makes me feel so old. I remember when I was in high school I would come home after a day of school and ride all three of my horses. Now I’m lucky if I can manage one in a day. It was great to spend some time in the barn on Saturday though, it’s my happy place. Horses are much better listeners than humans. And they still love you no matter what you tell them.

photo 5 (4) photo 5 (3)

Sunday evenings are my favorite. After a busy weekend of running around (literally), schoolwork, friends, etc. I like to go for a walk, just me and my puppies, and think. Sunny, warm spring weather helps. The last few weeks have been so overwhemingly busy ( I feel like I am always saying that but it’s true) that I was starting to feel a little run down. I love being busy, and having plans with friends all the time, but I’ve always considered myself an introvert, as I start to feel really tired if I don’t take some time to myself a couple times a week. A walk, catching up on Grey’s Anatomy, and an earlier bedtime on Sunday evening left me feeling like a new person this morning.

As for blogging goes, I feel like I am still in a major slump. I can’t write anything for the life of me lately, and it is so frustrating. I intended to write the rough draft of this post last night, and I just sat and stared at a blank screen for a good half an hour before giving up. The words aren’t coming to me lately. I’m hoping I snap out of it soon!

 

That’s all I’ve got for this morning, lovely people! Have a wonderful day ๐Ÿ™‚

How was your weekend?ย 

How do you beat writer’s block/ lack of creativity? Help!

5 thoughts on “playing catch up

  1. I’ve always found that as soon as I stop looking for topics to post about, I have so many that come to me all at once I don’t know where to begin. So I guess my advice would be take a step back, blog when you want, and the creative juices will come ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Board games and drinks are the best nights around as far as I’m concerned ๐Ÿ™‚ and your sunday evening tradition of walks with the puppies sounds glorious. I used to go for walks a lot on Sundays but stopped after we moved to where we are now. I have a feeling that will change once Joe leaves this weekend. Writers block wise I typically just wait it out. If nothing comes, I don’t force it and thus far that helps the words to come eventually ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. i second sarah’s writing advice. i actually currently feeling rather blog slumpish as well..oh well such is life!! xoxo, my love!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

