we are tied to the ocean

 

I really don’t know why it is that all of us are so committed to the sea, except I think it’s because in addition to the fact that the sea changes, and the light changes, and ships change, it’s because we all came from the sea. And it is an interesting biological fact that all of us have in our veins the exact same percentage of salt in our blood that exists in the ocean, and, therefore, we have salt in our blood, in our sweat, in our tears. We are tied to the ocean. And when we go back to the sea – whether it is to sail or to watch it – we are going back from whence we came.” – John F. Kennedy

                                                                                                                                            
eight eleven five four nine seven six ten three twelve twoEven though I tend to complain a lot about where I live, I really cannot imagine not living within a 5-10 minute drive of the ocean. The smell of the salt, the chilly wind, the sound of the waves hitting the rocks, all of it feels like home. I had never been to this particular beach, and Ariel & I discovered it on Easter Sunday. When we happen to both have the time, we like to drive around to places we have never been, and I insisted on bringing the cameras this time around. Speaking of cameras, all photos were taken by Ariel this time. My camera somehow managed to eat up all photos I took that evening, which was super disappointing, but atleast I’ve got these ones from her.

ps: that house? Creepiest thing ever up close. It is apparently a summer home, but it looks like something out of a horror movie.

pps: Yes, it is still cold enough here to wear a beanie. Spring? Never heard of it.

6 thoughts on “we are tied to the ocean

  1. Hahaha I had similar thoughts about that house even through the pics…”wow that’s pretty and also super creepy” 😛 gorgeous pics hun. We spent every summer out on Long Island, so seeing pics like these brings me back and makes me miss it like all get out 🙂

  2. ADORABLE! nature pics are my favorite, and it seriously looks so relaxing and serene there.
    and i am still wearing a scarf when i take gatsby for morning walks…poooie.

  3. I was about to say wow I want that house but now you kind of ruined that for me. It doesn’t look creepy! Besides the fact that there is literally NOTHING around it and nobody would hear your screams for help….but that’s how country living is too haha.
    These are so pretty! I miss the ocean so much. I miss any water right now actually. I put my feet into the Mississippi the other day just because it was calling my name and I almost cried because it was so cold and hurt haha.

    • Haha the house looks awesome from afar but yes, it looks like something straight out of a Supernatural episode! I didn’t touch the water that day out of fear of losing my foot to hypothermia or something! Hahaha

Leave a Reply

