running talk

20140407-210404.jpg

It’s been awhile since I talked about running, so today seems like a good day to revisit it. The 10k is a little over a month away, and Friday I ran 9k, so I’m pretty much set when it comes to distance.
Actually, let’s talk about Friday for a minute. I usually do my long runs on Saturday mornings, but the forecast gave torrential downpours and hurricane winds, so that was out. Running the farthest I have run in a long time on Friday evening, after a long week of work was the last thing I wanted to do. I also knew going into it that I didn’t eat in regular enough intervals that day, but I knew I had to go anyway. Although I think I laid on my bed for about fourty five minutes in an attempt to pump myself up to go.
Honestly? I’m pretty sure a piece of me died. I knew it was going to be tough, as it was my farthest run yet, and I hadn’t run more than 7k since before Vegas. Most of the run went better than I expected, but for the first time ever, I hit ‘the wall’.

Or, what I think is the wall. It felt like my legs were so heavy they were going to fall off, I had the worst side cramps I’ve ever had, the avacado toast I had before my run was threatening to come back up, and my brain was screaming WALK. This lasted about five minutes of uphill struggling. And then I turned a corner and knew I only had about a kilometre left to go and I was fine! Everyone always says running is a bigger mental challenge than a physical one, and I learned that was very true on Friday. The struggle was REAL.
I was pleased with my time, even though it felt like I was going turtle speed the entire time. I’m hoping for a sub 55minute 10k in May. Since I’ve never done a 10k race before I don’t have anything to go off of, and at the same time I don’t want to put a ridiculous amount of pressure on myself. I think 55minutes gives me a reasonable amount of wiggle room. I think that if the course turns out to be less hilly than I think it is going to be I can easily come in well under that time. Halifax is hilly however, so while I am doing hill repeats ( which are the WORST ) and make sure to do long runs with hills, I’m not sure what to expect. Hope for the best?

I’ve been reluctant to talk about how far I’m running, how fast I’m running, how often I’m running because, real talk here, all you other running bloggers are INTIMIDATING. I know that I shouldn’t fall into the comparison trap but when it seems like everyone is running 10miles every other day, or has ridiculous fast times, I can’t help myself. That’s not to say that everyone else shouldn’t post their own times and such, y’all are killing it and should be proud, but that’s just how I feel. I’m working on extracting myself from the comparison trap and trying not to dwell too much on my own times. So, aside from my official race time come May, I’m not going to be posting any of my times.

While that’s kind of a crappy note to end on, that’s all I’ve got. Actually, here, have this photo of my dog that I took yesterday. It cracks me up every time I look at it.

Also, the thint

20140408-074054.jpg

Happy Tuesday!!

Do you ever fall into the comparison trap? How do you take yourself out of it?>

6 thoughts on “running talk

  1. All the time. Used to anyway. I’d be really happy about a run that I went on and then read about how x and y bloggers ran 10x faster and further, and then I’d feel like crap. Joining a run club really helped me feel ok with where I am as a runner; I have some friends who are going to Boston this year and some who hope to achieve a PR much slower than my own…and they’re at all of the local races together supporting each and every person who participates. It made me see that running is really a community and the only person you truly (hopefully) compete with is yourself. And that realization changed my mentality completely. That’s not to say that I think I should always be gunning for a PR when I go out in a race because that’s not true…it’s just that someone else’s awesome performance doesn’t take away from my own

    • So very true! I’m coming to realize it’s so very unnecessary of me to get down on myself because I’m not as fast/don’t run as far as someone else, because as you said, I should only be competing with myself! Thanks girl! ā¤

  2. Don’t be ashamed of your times or distances! My parents always reminded me that there will always be someone smarter, better, faster, etc. and it’s impossible to compare. I know it’s way easier said than done and I get really self conscious about hitting my own personal high mileage weeks when I read bloggers who regularly do double that, but I think it’s way more beneficial and uplifting to focus on how far you’ve come individually as a runner than how fast your 10k time is compared to Someone else. And as long as you’re proud of what you’ve done, everybody else will be proud of you too šŸ™‚

    • So well said šŸ™‚ your parents are right! Sometimes it’s hard to always keep it in mind, but at the end of the day all we can do is our best, and be proud of how hard we worked!!

  3. Pffft I’m the least runner ish out of everyone in blogging I think. I RARELY run. It’s my new summer goal though now that I have beaUtiful parks in the bluffs to run a. So just remember “you’re always doing better than Liv!!” Yay for motivation lol! So proud of you! I probably could only run two miles without dying.

Leave a Reply

