that one time i went to a fan convention

if you missed part one of my Vegas recap, click here!


20140328-082656.jpg

20140328-082607.jpg

Do you recognize these guys?

No? Yes? Maybe?

That would be Jared Padalecki & Jensen Ackles, aka the hot lead actors of the show Supernatural. And why do I have photos of them from Vegas?

Because I went to a convention for the tv show, Supernatural.

Some of you probably think I’m weird. Or crazy. Or nerdy. But hear me out.

First off, I should clarify that attending this convention was a HUGE bucket list thing for my best friend. Like, top of the list. Jensen Ackles to her is Amy Poehler to me. So, when she asked me about seven months ago if I would go to Vegas with her to attend a convention for the show Supernatural, I immediately said YES. There really is nothing that feels as good as seeing your best friend at her happiest. I’m so happy I got to experience that with her.

The convention itself was four days. And while it was four long days, with lots of waiting in lines for autographs, photo ops, etc. it was completely worth it. We got to meet so many people from the show, we got to sit in on panels with actors, producers, directors. Have you ever got to listen to people speak about things they are extremely passionate about? It’s fucking awesome. It was just so cool to hear about all the behind the scenes stuff that goes on. How a TV show is put together. How storylines come together.

Everyone was so, so kind. And beautiful. And hilarious. And interesting. It was just such a fun experience!
20140328-082919.jpg

20140328-082906.jpg

20140328-082842.jpg

One of the actors, Rob Benedict, is in a band and they were the house band that played in between panels and such the entire weekend. They played mostly 80s rock, as that is the main soundtrack of the show, and it was awesome. Plus, who doesn’t love a man in a powder blue tuxedo?!
20140328-083101.jpg

Aside from the general awesome that was the convention itself, I feel like I learned a lot from the fans that attended with us. I kind of have an outside perspective of the whole experience because, while I am a fan of the show, everyone there is a FAN of the show. Like, hardcore. Think a Comic Con type situation. I find a society places this weird, unfair stigma on fans. They make them out to be psychotic, uncontrollable, screaming fan girls who throw themselves at celebrities. And while those people do exist I’m sure, it’s not the case for 99% of people. Just because you love something you shouldn’t feel ashamed to love it, nor should you be stigmatized for loving it. Being in a room with a bunch of people who all collectively love and feel passionately about something is amazing. Everyone is friendly, and supportive of everyone else. And no one is ashamed of it.
20140328-083316.jpg

20140328-083304.jpg

20140328-083245.jpg

So if you want to think we are nerdy or weird, that’s okay. But I don’t. I think we love something, had the opportunity to go see something we loved, and it turned out to be the best trip of our lives!

If you want to do something, go do it. If you love something, don’t be ashamed of that. You do you.

And with that, I hope you guys all have a happy Friday and a wonderful weekend!! 🙂

Favorite TV Show? Would you go to a fan convention?
Have you ever met someone famous?

6 thoughts on “that one time i went to a fan convention

  1. I’M TOTALLY FANGIRLING YOUR BLOG RIGHT NOW. I’m so glad you tweeted me about putting this up. Aaggghh Sam and Dean are just gorgeous. I’m extremely jealous. YOU BETTER HAVE GOTTEN AN AUTOGRAPH. Seriously my heart is beating so fast right now. I have such a major crush on them as you know. Plus the show is wonderful! Lolol is that Dean kissing Cass!?
    I’m so happy you had such a good time!! Xoxox

  2. Pingback: travel tuesday : los angeles | thelittleunicornblog

  3. I didn’t realize THIS is why you were going to Vegas.. SO. COOL. My friend went to a Supernatural thing a couple years ago, and that actually got me to start watching the show. I only watched the first season, but oh man, those boys are pretty 😉

Leave a Reply

