animated movies, vegas, and a bad case of SAD

Happy Monday!

For some reason I always have trouble starting out weekend recap posts. Is there any way to smoothly transition into a long ramble about everything I did over the past three days? If someone has the answer to this..please let me know?

SO..Friday was… long. If I’m being completely honest, I feel as though I’ve been in a real funk for the last couple of weeks. I’ve been trying really hard not to complain about the weather/winter but damn. SAD is a real thing, people. And I’ve got it bad. It’s like being in a permanent bad mood, which means that it seems like every single person is annoying and I feel like I’m on the verge of tears all the time. Sounds super fun, I know.

So after a long day at work on Friday, I decided I needed to snap out of the funk. So I grabbed a couple of my friends and we watched movies all evening. And had some serious real talk. It was exactly what I needed, and while I still felt iffy , I felt a whole lot better than when I woke up on Friday morning.

We ended up watching American Hustle ( my second time seeing it.. still love it! ) and Despicable Me 2. I hadn’t seen Despicable Me 2 yet, and was not disappointed. The minions make me laugh so hard, and the movie is just so damn cute ! Now that I think about it I’ve really been on an animated movie lately. Last week I went to theatres to see The Lego Movie ( yes, I did. It was GREAT! And yes, we were the oldest people in the theatres haha), then at home last week I watched The Croods, Frozen, and the aforementioned Despicable Me 2. If anything, i’m making significant progress on my goal of 100 movies in 2014!

The sun decided to shine for the first time in forever on Saturday. I even went running in shorts. SHORTS. It was glorious. And then we went geocaching. Because when the sun decides to shine in February, you better take advantage of it. I’m telling you, nothing feels better than that sun shining on my face after what seems like weeks of clouds. God is great.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset Saturday evening watching Frozen with my grandmother and Ariel. A night with my two favorite people in the entire world, watching my current favorite movie? Perfection.

If you haven’t seen Frozen yet, I’m not sure we can be friends. I’ve seen it three times now.  I’m obsessed with the soundtrack. Obsessed. Can Idina Menzel sing me to sleep every night, please? Voice of a damn angel. I’m also really into any cover of ‘Let It Go’ I can get my hands on.  The African Tribal cover is one of my favorites!

Sunday morning was spent at my desk, doing psychology homework. Super exciting stuff. Actually, since we are on the topic of schoolwork, can someone please yell at me to do physics? I’m currently doing a super job at procrastinating the shit out of doing any physics work. I hate physics, so therefore I’ll do three hours of other work before I’d do 30 minutes of physics. I spent 90 minutes working on a single damn question this morning. Torturous.

Sunday is my rest day from exercise, but I had to take Rosie out for a walk after a few hours of sitting at my desk. My legs felt a bit tight/sore from Saturday’s run, so a walk felt great. Plus the sunshine was doing it’s very best to come out from behind the clouds. I cannot wait until everything looks alive again.

Processed with VSCOcam with b1 preset

Then Ariel and I spent the rest of the afternoon planning for Vegas.  I swear you will never meet two people who have a tougher time making decisions than us. It literally took us five hours to book tickets to 1 show, and become 90% sure about what tour of the Grand Canyon to take. We booked tickets to the Cirque de Soleil show Mystere, and we are most likely going to end up taking a bus tour to the Grand Canyon. Initially we thought we might take a helicopter tour, but then I decided I didn’t want to have to sell my firstborn to afford the damn tour,so we are doing more research to find the best bus tours!

I am more than open to suggestions of must see things to do/see/ EAT in Vegas! Especially EAT!!

I can’t believe we leave for Vegas in fourteen days. Insane!

So, that was my weekend in a nutshelll. I started Monday with physics, as I previously mentioned, and then did hill repeats (outside!!!) for a workout, so I currently feel like death. However, my friend sent me this article of the best John Green quotes, and it makes me SO happy.

Do something remarkable today.

6 thoughts on “animated movies, vegas, and a bad case of SAD

  1. Do your physics homework!! 😉 But take lots of breaks so you don’t rip your eyes out! That’s how I felt my entire year of physics in high school, and I don’t think I’d feel differently now. I’m with you on the SAD thing, girl. Winter is always really hard for me after Christmas…I need sunshine and warmth, but I live in Pittsburgh, so that doesn’t happen till April or May. I think you’re handling it really well, though…doing things you love, with people you love, getting out when you can, and planning trips/things to look forward to are great ways to combat it! Can you swing by the burgh on your way to vegas to get me 😉

    • Haha thanks for the physics encouragement love! It’s so desperately needed… It’s the same here in NS, we don’t really get spring and warm temps until May. Sometimes we get lucky in April.. But mostly it rains the entire month so we can’t enjoy it whatsoever! Sending you happy vibes girl 🙂

  2. eww physics. just the word makes me cringe. ive never had to take it but my roommates has taken a few different physics classes and she seems to think they are like dying slowly. and you are going to have so much fun in VEGAS!! seriously just walking up and down the strip is entertaining enough. make sure you see one of the water shows at the bellagio one night, those are awesome, and for sure walk around caesars palace cause that place is just plain awesome!

  3. I have to second Carrie’s comment. Definitely a water show at the Bellagio and Caesars Palace! Just ask them if Caesar himself really lived there!! 😛 But seriously it’s wonderful in there. I saw Celine Dion and bawled my eyes out during her “My Heart Will Go On” performance. And then I’ve also seen Elton John there! SHOULD’VE BOOKED TICKETS TO SEE BRITTNEY, BITCH! Margaritaville is a must anywhere you go! But it’s really fun there!
    So pumped to see your pictures from the Supernatural convention!!! And SO EXTREMELY JEALOUS.
    I will not push you to do physics because physics was made by the devil himself, along with math.
    P.s. I loved The Croods, Frozen, AND Despicable Me 2! Animated movies are the best. I really like Demi Lovato’s version of Let it Go as well.
    xoxo have a wonderful Tuesday!

    • I want to see Celine Dion but tickets are SO EXPENSIVE. If we can magically find cheap tickets it may happen!! And honestly, a dying cat could sing Let It Go and I’d listen to it hahaha XO

Leave a Reply

