thinking out loud – doughnuts, winter, and running

I’ve decided to do another Thinking Out Loud Thursday! I like the freedom of being able to write randomly about whatever is popping into my head at the moment, and I’m having kind of a tough time thinking of anything to blog about this week, so here is a little look into what is going on inside my head at the moment.

Thinking-Out-Loud

1. I’m making it my own personal goal to stop complaining about winter. Everyone knows it snowing, cold, and all around dreary without my adding to the noise, right? Plus, I find being negative about the weather affects my attitude about other things going on in my day. Therefore, I have made extra effort to be happy this week, despite the frostbite. πŸ™‚

2. It was my best friend’s birthday on Tuesday! It was an absolutely gorgeous day, the sun was shining, and it was chilly but not freezing. I took the day off of work, and we went for a walk around downtown and got fancy coffee. It’s funny how I work on Main St. in my town, but it’s been forever since I walked down the full length of the street, and down along the wharf.

photo 1 (7)photo 2 (8)Then we went back to my house for supper & baked a pumpkin tofu cheesecake. Sounds disgusting, I know. It was surprisingly delicious, definitely exceeded my expectations. Β I had ordered her birthday present online, and of course I waited till the absolute last minute, so it hasn’t come yet 😦 I’m the world’s best procrastinator.

photo 4 (3)3. It’s going to be harder than I thought to get back into the school routine. Classes “started” on Saturday, but I’ve probably only spent about 6 hours so far, and I’ve only worked on 1/4 of my classes. The way my distance classes work are that you have 6 months to complete the schoolwork, and you get to do it at your own pace. It’s great, but takes a lot of self-discipline. I haven’t quite broken my evening Netflix habit yet… maybe next week?

4. I’ve been having a lot of trouble with my wrists lately, so I have this elaborate routine of heat, stretching, and squeeze ball exercises I have to do multiple times a day. Thanks to my job, I have the wrists of an 80year old. I also have had low back pain for a couple days. I feel really old this week.

5. I have had the WORST shin splints since Sunday afternoon. I know they are from my longer run on Saturday, and the fact that I hadn’t run outside on the uneven ground in so long, but damn. I’ve been foam rolling, icing/heat, and self massaging the muscles to the best of my ability but I desperately need a real massage. I ran on Tuesday morning and my legs felt so dead. Or maybe I just wasn’t awake yet? I just felt funny the whole run. I did it, however, so I’m happy with that. I probably won’t be running again until Saturday, just cross training, to give my legs a chance to chill out.

6. I watched Dallas Buyer’s Club on Monday night and it was SO GOOD. Once you get past the terrifyingly skinny looks of Matthew McConaughey, it’s golden. Jared Leto was also acted his ass off. I’m trying to get through all the Best Picture Oscar nominees before the awards, so I think I’m going to try Her next. Has anyone seen it? From what I’ve heard it’s very different, but still excellent!

7. More running talk – I am debating whether or not I want to get a Garmin. I’d really like to be able to accurately track everything, but they are more expensive than I thought. Any recommendations? Or good iphone apps? I might just end up buying a arm band for my phone if I can’t drop $150 on a Garmin right yet.

8. One last thing about running – every single time I finish I run I crave doughnuts. Is that weird? I don’t even remember the last time I had a doughnut, but they cross my mind a lot when I’m stretching/foam rolling. You’re welcome for that super interesting fact about me πŸ˜‰

I hate how throughout the day things cross my mind and I think ” oh, I should blog about that”, and then when it comes time to write a post, I struggle to come up with anything. Hence this rather uninteresting post. Anyway, have a happy Thursday!

What foods do you crave after exercise?

Last movie you watched?Β 

14 thoughts on “thinking out loud – doughnuts, winter, and running

  1. I like the song Happy! I try to push past the face that Pharrell looks like sewer rat (just my opinion) and he wore a god awful hat to an awards show. Every time I hear this song I think of Despicable Me 2 and then it makes me HAPPY!
    Shin Splints are the devils work. Seriously, I feel ya on that one. I developed them playing soccer for several years and being a Gymnast for my entire life really made it worse. They’re now a problem whenever I do any kind of exercise that involves my legs. I get them massaged every month, like a really deep massage. It helps.
    Dallas Buyers Club (insert thumbs up emoji here) I told you, once you get over the whole Matthew McConaughey being grossly skinny you’re golden. I can’t wait to see Her! Except I think I’ll have no choice but to watch in theaters otherwise I’ll be waiting a long time to see it. It’s not on my handy dandy site yet. I think the whole idea of the movie is genius. Scarlett Johansson’s voice in it was the perfect choice. She’s got such a sultry voice.
    I seriously sit at work and think of so many things to blog, so then I just make drafts. Then later I’ll read them and see if I think they’re worthy enough. Today’s was easy (you’ll see why when you read it).
    I need to think of a movie to watch when I get home. I’ll be messaging you later for that!
    Have a good day, peaches! xoxox!

    • I laughed so hard at your description of Pharrell as a sewer rat!! I agree, that hat was hideous. I plan a lot of blog posts at work too, while I’m massaging people haha unfortunately I can’t stop mid treatment and jot down drafts! I wish! Message me anytime darling! Xo

      • It’s just all I see when I look at him. It’s an uncanny resemblance.
        My job is pretty low key and I have alot of down time so I spend alot of time on the computer. That’s how I keep up on the news too lol!

  2. I need to see Dallas Buyers Club as soon as possible – figuring out how I can do that this weekend. I use MapMyFitness on my phone to track distances – have you tried that?

  3. SO true about thinking blogging thoughts during the day and then NOTHING when my laptop is in front of me! Gah! Dallas Buyer’s Club is on my watchlist!

  4. I love the happy approach πŸ™‚ This time of the year can definitely suck the fun out of life, but complaining about it definitely doesn’t help matters. And the good news is that it’s all downhill from here. A little over a month and we’ll be enjoying warmer weather. Heck, the days are already starting to get a little bit longer, which has been super nice.

  5. I really like donuts so post run donuts sound fabulous. I never seem to crave them though. Probably means I don’t eat the enough. As for a garmin, eh. I have two and I wear them for races only. I thought I’d wear the new one more because I like to know how far I ran but I find that I just enjoy running infinitely more if I don’t wear a watch at all and Map my route before/after to check my distance. It depends on what you want to use it for- seeing my pace stresses me out!

    • You have a really good point – I have never really tracked my distance or pace accurately before, I usually just guesstimate. But I also don’t work well under pressure, so maybe I wouldn’t like it. Perhaps I’ll stick with an app first before investing in a fancy garmin!

  6. I don’t love cheesecake, but that pumpkin tofu cheesecake sounds incredible for some reason. After exercise, I crave So Delicious coconut yogurt. I started using it in my cupcake recipes last year, and I love when there is extra left over for breakfast πŸ™‚

  7. Hahaha oh girl I have that problem too which is why i started jotting down ideas on my notepad on the iphone when they come so i don’t forget πŸ˜› I always crave bagels, toast, or oats after a run…my taste buds know that carb loading is where it’s at πŸ˜‰ And the last movie i watched was frozen. My parents saw her and said it was really sad but really good. I want to see it too πŸ™‚

    • Bagels are another thing I crave after runs! Bagels and cream cheese, all the way. I LOVED Frozen, it was so cute, I adore Olaf. I heard the same thing about Her, I’m hoping the sadness is worth it hahaha

Leave a Reply

