a day in the life

Happy Monday!!!

When I first started reading blogs, the majority of the posts were the “day in the life” type posts, that went through the entirety of the bloggers day. I love how much more variety there is in blogging now, but sometimes I miss reading those types of posts. At first I doubted that anyone would actually want to read about a day in my life, as it seems so ordinary and quite boring to me most of the time, but since I love reading about other peoples’ days, so I am hoping this is not ridiculously dull. I actually meant to post this on Friday, as it is a post detailing my day Thursday, but I ran out of time to edit it and decided to just save it for today.

On workdays I usually wake up at 7:20. I’m not one of those people who abuse the snooze button, so I usually drag myself out of bed after a couple minutes of waking myself up by scrolling through my instagram feed. Once i’m up I eat breakfast immediately, since i’m usually starving, and read blogs & twitter while eating. By 8:00am I’m ready to go outside and take care of the animals.

Processed with VSCOcam with b1 preset Processed with VSCOcam with b5 preset Processed with VSCOcam with b5 presetIf you’re new to reading my blog, you may not know that I have three pretty ponies in my backyard. Every single morning after breakfast, I go outside to feed, water, and muck out these cuties. Normally it takes me about half an hour to get everything done. However, thanks to Wednesday’s snowstorm, the waterline to the barn froze. Which meant I had to carry buckets of water from the house to the barn. There were also three waist high snow drifts that I had to shovel, because they were blocking the doors for the horses to get outside.

photo (3)I also had to spend a good ten minutes shovelling my car out.  What normally takes 30 minutes took me over an hour Thursday morning. I’d also like to thank my neighbour for watching me dig out my car, and then start snow blowing his own driveway. Have I mentioned how much I hate winter? I really do. I’ve tried to be accepting and nice, but winter keeps kicking my ass. I guess she’s just a cold hearted bitch who doesn’t want to be liked.

I didn’t have to work until 12, so after coming inside I spent time making my lunch, folding sheets to take to work with me ( you wouldn’t believe the amount of laundry I have to do for work. Worst part of the job) , answering emails, and working out. I did Jillian Michaels Yoga Meltdown Level 2 and then spent extra time stretching and foam rolling my legs while watching The Good Wife. I was going to run on the treadmill, but I was already tired from shovelling and had a full client day, so I took an easy day. I showered, got ready for work, and headed to work, coffee in hand.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Side note: I kind of want to be one of those people in charge of naming nail polishes. What I’m wearing above is Essie’s ‘Eternal Optimism’. Isn’t that the best? I love it. Also, note the tears in my eyes in the above selfie. It was effing freezing and windy, and I took my glove off to take a photo. Clearly I put way too much effort into taking a [terrible] selfie.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset12-5 was spent at  work. I had 5 clients scheduled, but one ended up cancelling so I spent that hour doing paperwork, scanning client files, and a trip to three separate banks. Other than the client that cancelled, it was a good day at work. I rent a room in the back of a salon/spa, and run my business out of there. When I type that out, I realize that sounds super sketchy, but I promise I did not spend 2 [long] years at college to be a massage therapist you’d find in the questionable back alley. I actually had a full day of therapeutic massages, meaning I got to treat a bunch of different injuries. These are my favorite days at work because it keeps it interesting. I also have the best clients, I love talking to people and hearing their stories. I really love my job, if you haven’t noticed!

I’m always tired and hungry when I get off work, as I’m working on my feet and using upper body strength the entire time, but I think the extra shovelling really got to me on Thursday because I thought my stomach was going to eat itself by the time I was done. When I got home I grabbed a granola bar because I was about to pass out, and then headed outside to do the evening horse chores. More buckets of water, more hay, more cleaning stalls. This is actually one of my favorite parts of my day! I find it relaxing after a day at work to come home, get some fresh air outside, and go through the routine. As much as I hate winter, I find it’s usually peaceful and quiet outside. Even though it’s chilly, the fresh air feels so good. I really love being outside, and it’s hard for me to spend so much time inside in the winter, so I’m glad to use the horses as an excuse to get outside for a couple hours every day!

When I was done outside, I fixed dinner, showered, did more laundry, and cleaned my room. Next week I will have to start doing homework after I come in, but i’m still on break for another week and a half so you can be damn sure that Thursday night ( and probably every night until the new semester starts) I crash on my bed and watch a ridiculous amount of Netflix until bed. Also, I try to be asleep by 11, because I am a grandma and need atleast 8-9 hours of sleep to be even remotely functional the next morning.

So that’s it! A typical day in my life. I’m sure you are on the edge of your seat right now, as that was so thrilling and interesting 😉

Tell me, what is your favorite part of your typical day? 

3 thoughts on “a day in the life

  1. i actually love a good day in the life of post. sometimes i think bloggers are trying to do so many cool things so they have something to post about but i think regular this is my life posts can be pretty awesome as well. my favorite part of my day is jesus time and coffee time in them morning. just gets me off on the right foot for the rest of the day! ps- it’s like ridic cold here so i’m sure it’s ridic cold in canada ehh? haha. stay warm my love!!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

