Hello, 2014.

20140101-141509.jpg

” Fresh starts. Thanks to the calendar, they happen every year. Just set your watch to January. Our reward for surviving the holiday season, is a new year. Bringing on the great tradition of New Year’s resolutions. Put your past behind you, and start over. It’s hard to resist the chance at a new beginning. A chance to put the problems of last year to bed.

Who gets to determine when the old ends, and the new begins? It’s not a day on a calendar, not a birthday, not a new year. It’s an event. Big or small. Something that changes us. Ideally, it gives us hope.

A new way of living and looking at the world. Letting go of old habits, old memories. What’s important is that we never stop believing we can have a new beginning.

But it’s also important to remember that amid all the crap are a few things really worth holding on to. ” – Grey’s Anatomy

I think it is extremely important to remember that we do not need the start of a New Year in order to make resolutions, set goals, or to change ourselves for the better. It can happen at anytime, any place, due to any one occurrence. I love resolutions, don’t get me wrong. The beginning of the New Year has always been that time of year I found myself most easily resolving to a,b, or c. Perhaps one of my resolutions for this year will be to realize I don’t need the date January 1st to make resolutions.

2013 had both bad and good times, as all years tend to. However, it was the first year I both broke someone’s heart and had my own heart broken. It was the first of my bachelors degree, and the year in which I learned to balance school, working/running my own business, and a social life. I met a lot of new people, did a lot of things that scared the shit out of me, and came out alive despite what I may have thought at the time. Overall I’d say 2013 was pretty damn good to me, considering I still have a roof over my head, food to eat, and friends and family to hug.

I want to return to blogging in 2014, I miss it. Since I got back from Florida I let myself get consumed by finals and the holidays and my insane work schedule. Blogging is challenging for me in some ways, I’ve always struggled with writing. However, as with all things, I found it becomes easier the more often I do it. Plus, I’d love to have blog posts to look back on in a years time, so many little moments are forgotten by the end of the year!

This is short & sweet, as I’m off to one last celebration with my friends before they head back to school. I hope everyone had wonderful holidays, filled with food and drink, surrounded by those they love.

Here’s to 2014!!
Xo,
Jenna

Leave a Reply

