Mean What You Say

” Be who you are and say what you feel, because those who mind don’t matter, and those who matter don’t mind. ”
– Dr. Seuss

 

The other day while I was browsing my twitter feed, I came across the following quote :

” and that’s the thing about people who mean everything they say. they think everyone else does too. “

I thought about that quote for the rest of the day. And the next day. And most of today. I turned the words over and over again in my mind. The more I thought about it, it became clearer to me how true it really was. 

I am one of those people who mean everything they say. I’m generally quiet, and I carefully consider every word that comes out of my mouth. I will do absolutely anything for those I care about, and if I say I am going to do something, I am most definitely going to do it. And yes, I do think that everyone else means what they say. 

Does that make me naive? Maybe. Has this resulted in my feelings being hurt in the past? Absolutely. Has this caused me to change how I think and feel? No.

For awhile in college, I got caught up in unnecessary drama. I changed who I was. I flaked out on friends. I said things I didn’t mean. In return, people treated me the same exact way I treated them. People said they were going to do things for me that they never did. I deserved to be treated that way, because I became someone I didn’t recognize anymore. I felt awful for what I was doing to other people. 

What did I do about it? 

I started treating people how I wanted to be treated. 

I started meaning what I said again. I kept promises. 

I’ll never again stop meaning what I say. I will also never stop thinking that other people will return the favour to me. Call me naive if you wish, but I’ve seen firsthand what happens when you become someone you are not. That being said, I’m not perfect. I slip up every once in awhile. However, I’ve become increasingly aware of how some people really don’t care what comes out of their mouth. Even though my feelings may get hurt, it inspires me to continue being who I am, while cutting anyone who doesn’t treat me the same out of my life.

There are a lot of bad people in the world, but there are also so many good ones. Be a good one, and the other good ones will find you.

Xo.

 

2 thoughts on “Mean What You Say

  1. i have seen this quote around as well i am the exact same way as you. to me it doesn’t make sense that people would say things and not mean them. and i agree it definitely has lead to me being hurt in the past, but i also think hurt is often times disguised as growth. it hurts to grow, but it hurts even more to stay stationary in the same place. beautiful post dear.

Leave a Reply

