The Cottage

Two weekends ago, I crossed one of the few remaining items off of my Summer Bucket List. I spent a couple days back at my family cottage. I turned off my phone, left any other technology at home and spent an amazing two days with my family.

Moving back in with your parents after you have lived on your own for two years is.. interesting. While I am extremely grateful for the fact I live with them for free, and can come and go as I please, moving back in with my parents was an adjustment to say the least. It’s been over a year now since I’ve moved back, and we’ve had our fair share of arguments, that’s for sure. However, for the two days we were at the cottage, there was no arguments. It felt just like I was a child again. Canoeing, campfire, badminton and games of washers filled our afternoon. I read two thirds of the third Harry Potter book in a single evening. I went for a 7 kilometre run that evening as well, just me, my dog, and my thoughts. Nothing clears your head quite like a run on a familiar yet seldom taken path, on a sunny evening.

While I remember sleeping in bunk beds was easier when I was younger (read: I hit my head on the bottom of the top bunk about ten times), I slept like a baby. I woke up on Sunday morning to my mom making blueberry pancakes. Happiest kid alive, right here.

To say that weekend was well needed is an understatement. Lately I feel as though the end of summer has been blurring together into a myriad of, overwhelmingly busy days. It seems as though there is always something else I need to do, and I just do not have enough time to do it. I’ve learned that doing schoolwork in the summer is a huge challenge. It has definitely taken a backseat to everything else, and I need to fix that. It’s causing me unecessary stress and constant worry. I’ve taken next week off from work, and I’m hoping to get a good amount of schoolwork done. However, I’m going away this upcoming weekend for a softball tournament, and then Monday I am headed to the city with a couple friends until Tuesday evening. After that, I have riding lessons, a hair appointment and two softball games distracting me from my schoolwork. Not much of a vacation, but better than nothing.
Do you ever feel like your schedule is too much, like you’ve bitten off more than you can chew? I currently do!

Anyway, here are a few pictures from the weekend πŸ™‚
53

54

55

56

57

58

This place will always remind me of my childhood. It’s full of wonderful memories, and I am so thankful I can visit it every summer, and remember all of the good times I’ve had there over the years!

What place or thing reminds you most of your childhood? πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

