through the eyes of a child

20130617-205857.jpg
Pony & I, circa 1998.

As you may or may not know, in addition to working as a massage therapist, I also teach horseback riding lessons on the side. Just beginner lessons, in my backyard ring. I’ve done it since I was 14, and for the longest time I was sure I was going to do it professionally. Dream job, but unless I wanted to live in the stalls with the horses, it wasn’t going to work….ANYWAY

Today I had the sweetest little girl, she is one of my newer students, only 6 years old. Blonde hair, blue eyes, tiny yet fearless little gem of a girl. This was her third lesson, and I look forward to them every week. She always talks my ear off about school, her friends, and constantly asking questions.
As I said last week, I’m going through a hectic,busy,stressful time in my life right now and today, as I patiently answered this little girls questions and listened to her stories, I found myself amazed by her general LOVE of life. It got me thinking about how wonderful it would be to view life like children do. No worries, or concerns, curious about anything and everything.

At one point, as she was brushing the pony off at the end of the lesson, she looked at me and said ‘ I love it here. I’m really happy. ‘ I swear I melted into a puddle right there. Cutest moment ever,but it truly brightened my entire day. For the rest of the day I’ve tried to forget about how stressed out I am, forget about everything I’m worried about, and just appreciate life.

Monday turned out to be not so bad. Thanks kid, I owe ya one.

Xx

Leave a Reply

