The Present

” Lose not yourself in a far off time, seize the moment that is thine ”
– Friedrich Schiller

20130527-222312.jpg
I have a bad habit of not being fully present in my life. I, like I’m sure many people my age, tend to be so intently focused on the ‘ what ifs ‘ of the future that I completely forget to appreciate the NOW. I find that, especially lately, I’m caught up in what I’m going to be doing in school come six months, whether or not I’ll be able to travel, where I’m going to be working a year from now, whether or not I’m going to have enough money…it goes on and on.
20130527-222438.jpg

I’ve been reflecting on everything good I have in my life. I have SO much to appreciate. I’ve got amazing friends and family, a stable job, I’m able to continue my education, I’ve got a roof over my head, and food on the table. Sounds silly maybe, but has it ever just hit you how LUCKY you are?

20130527-222235.jpg

My friends and I are all guilty of sh!t talking our little hometown. How there is often nothing to do, nobody new to meet, the weather sucks most of the time, etc. However, when I stop and think about it, it’s freaking beautiful here. It takes a mere five minutes to drive to the ocean, I’ve got a forest in my backyard, fields everywhere. I’m kind of a nature/outdoors freak, I’d rather be outside than anywhere else. Considering that, I think i’m living in the right place for now. I took the time to go over some old photos that I’ve taken around my town, just to remind myself that where I live is lovely, and wonderful most of the time.

20130527-222504.jpg

Anyways, I hope you are all having a wonderful week. I also hope it’s not raining where you live, as it has been here for the past week and a half!

What is your favorite thing about your home town/city ?

2 thoughts on “The Present

Leave a Reply

