New York, New York

20130521-210544.jpgOn Saturday evening, I went to see The Great Gatsby with a couple of my friends. I’ve been waiting a damn long time fr this movie and was pleased that it did not disappoint. I thought the casting was excellent, especially Carey Mulligans portrayal of Daisy. Leo wasn’t too bad to look either, I suppose….

However, the movie re-ignited my love for New York. This happens nearly every time I watch a movie or television show based in New York, and it all started with the show Friends. The two years I spent in college I was completely obsessed with the city, and dreamed of moving there after grad. ( I know, I know, typical small town girl dream ) Unfortunately, real life bit me in the ass and made me realize it wasn’t going to happen. ( Atleast not right now ) .

I believe my fascination with New York is due to the fact that life there would be so completely different from where I currently live, and I want to experience something completely different from what I’m used to. One of my greatest fears is that I am not taking enough risks in my life, not experiencing everything I possibly can. I know that picking up and moving to New York wouldn’t solve any of my problems, and would cause many more, but sometimes it is just nice to day dream!

I was supposed to go to New York in April, but my decision to go back to school, and pay for it out of my pocket, prevented me from going. So, for now, I’ll continue to watch Sex and the City re-runs to satisfy my New York love.

Photo : Google Images

4 thoughts on “New York, New York

  1. Hi Jenna!! Thank you for the sweet comment! New York truly is the best! I sometimes CRAVE a visit because it’s so magical with all the noise, nightlife, people, music, good food, shopping, etc! Taking risks is hard… I am thinking about what my next step will be and it’s either playing it safe and living in SF or going to explore a new city! It’s a difficult decision to make because being near home and family is just so comforting. But taking risks is always the BEST learning experience and you learn so much about yourself, other cultures, people, etc!!! You can’t go wrong if you jump into it with a positive and open-minded attitude!!! xxxxx

    • Awh, thank you so much for taking the time to visit my blog and comment, it made my night! I agree, it’s so difficult between choosing a familiar and safe place or a new, exciting place! Either way, I wish you the best in the future, and I will definitely be following along with you on your blog 🙂 xx

  2. I hope you get to visit soon! It truly is a magical place, but do remember to take time to appreciate where you are right NOW. The grass is ALWAYS greener on the other side and the big city certainly isn’t flawless.
    I think I dream about Paris the way you dream about New York. So I totally know the feeling.
    Have a great weekend! x

    • Thank you Alyssa, I think I needed to be reminded to appreciate the present, and your comment inspired an idea for a post! 🙂 Paris is on my travel list as well, my friends who have gone tell me it’s amazing! Thanks for reading 🙂 xx

Leave a Reply

