thinking out loud thursday #8

Happy Thinking Out Loud Thursday!

Where to begin? I had intended on posting earlier in the week, but I ran out of time (as per usual. ) I spent Sunday – Tuesday catsitting for my Aunt at her house, where there is no wifi. I’m pretty sure that is the longest I have gone without wifi in forever. It was probably for the better, considering I got a significant amount of schoolwork done on Monday, since I didn’t have the distraction of social media.

Going back to the weekend…

Friday I spent the majority of the afternoon getting my hair did. Fact: I LOVE having my hair done. Having someone shampoo my hair is my version of heaven.

photo 2 (16)

 

It was so beautiful out all day, so I had to go for a walk that evening. Actually, the weather has been on point for nearly a week now. Way to go, Mother Nature, you are finally starting to redeem yourself in my eyes.

photo 2 (18) photo 3 (12)

Saturday I went to a birthday party for a couple of my friends. I guess you could say we had a good time? I really, truly love these beautiful people.

photo 2 (15) Processed with VSCOcam with b1 preset photo 3 (11)

photo 4 (8)

Also, there was cake. Guys. This cake. Homemade Baileys Chocolate Cake with homemade icing.  I died. SO GOOD.

photo 4

 

Sunday I spent most of the day with my mom & grandmother. Unfortunately, being the only vegetarian in the family means I am left to make my own dinner on special occaisions & holidays. So, Ariel and I headed to my Aunt’s to catsit and we decided we wanted waffles.

Enter:

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Pumpkin waffles with vanilla greek yogurt & warm apples with cinnamon a la How Sweet Eats. ( Minus the bacon infused syrup, obvs. )  I can’t even. So good.

Sunday night we got approximately 0 sleep, thanks to my aunt’s insane cats. I was reminded as to why I am not a cat person. I prefer my animals to sleep through the night, not run around all through the house and repeatedly pouncing on the bed at 3am. So, we stayed up late watching Game of Thrones, and are nearly done the first season. I really like it, but it’s crazy to me that they can actually air some of those scenes on TV. Some of the brothel scenes…straight out of movies that I cannot name because it will attract creepy people to my blog. But it rhymes with corn.

Besides GOT, we went running on Monday night, and these crazy clouds started to roll in.

photo 4 (9)Which I interpreted to  mean that it  was time to stop running and go eat pizza. I’d like to say how proud I am of Ariel for agreeing to go running with me on Monday night, after she got approximately three hours sleep and then worked a 12 hour shift.  Knowing we got to eat homemade pizza after helped I think…

photo 3 (13)

I’m kind of obsessed with kale right now. That is probably the most white girl thing I have ever said, but it’s SO GOOD. Or maybe I was just really hungry?

I also taught my first riding lessons of the year on Monday. I forgot how wonderful tiny humans can be. One of my little girls told me jokes and sang What Did The Fox Say the entire hour. It was the best. Getting paid to teach little girls how to ride ponies is kind of the best.

Speaking of ponies, I’m making a conscious effort to take the time out of my busy schedule and do things that make me happy. Enter: riding ponies. I’ve ridden three times in the past week, and it’s awesome. I remember I used to be able to ride 6-7 times a week. Now i’m thrilled to be able to ride 3x. Adulthood is terrible.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset photo 1 (15)

Tuesday morning I persuaded Ariel to go biking with me before work. We haven’t been biking since last summer so…

photo 5 (6)

We died a little.

I ran yesterday for (possibly) the last time until my race on Sunday. I might do an easy 5k on Friday morning if I decide I want to sacrifice sleep. Or maybe even on Saturday. I’m not sure if it’s the best idea, but for some reason, not running for three days prior to a race freaks me out a bit? I don’t know, I’m going to do my best and listen to what my body is telling me. Maybe I’m just nervous, who knows? As of right now (knock on wood) the forecast for Sunday looks good. Praying for sunshine and little wind!

And what would Thinking Out Loud Thursday be without some TV talk? Social media has been filled with TV show renewals, cancellation, upfronts, and new pilot talk. Love/hate relationship with this time of year.

I LOVE that Grey’s and Scandal (both renewed, obvs) are moving up an hour, meaning I can finally stay up and watch them in real time. ( Yes, my bedtime is 10pm. I’m old. ) I’ve decided I need to start watching Blacklist this summer, because it’s all I have heard about!

Luckily none of the shows I really love were cancelled. I think NBC cancelling Community was the biggest upset. And apparently CBS isn’t too hyped about How I Met Your Dad. Which was surprising to me, considering the crazy media hype about it back when the HIMYM finale aired.

Things I am happy about : Parenthood and Parks & Rec being renewed.

Thing I am (super) sad about : They will be the final season for both shows.

Things I am devastated about: Parks and Rec will only get a 13 episode final season, and will not start airing until January. (!!!!)

There are a lot of interesting pilots coming too, which makes me happy.

My faves

Angie Tribeca – not until 2015 though!

Bad Judge – I loooove Kate Walsh!

Mulaney

How To Get Away With Murder

 

Aaaand that concludes this week’s Thinking Out Loud Thursday! I probably won’t be back to post until Monday, but I will be sure to write a good race recap for you guys :)

Wish me luck!

What’s your favorite kind of cake? Chocolate with cream cheese frosting is my fave. Or red velvet!

Were any of your TV shows cancelled? Any new shows you are excited to see?

4 thoughts on “thinking out loud thursday #8

  1. I’m SO with you on getting my hair done at a salon. I was there just last week to get a trim, and I’m already looking forward to going back :lol: And blog reading this morning is proving to be very dangerous… There are cakes hitting me left, right, and centre, and it’s making me crave a slice of my favourite (Black Forest) super bad :shock:

  2. If I come to canada, will you teach me to ride a pony??? I’ve been wanting to learn forever but never had the chance :( I heard about the murder show this morning and definitely want to check it out…sounds right up my alley :) And my fav cake?? Chocolate with vanila frosting…giant oreo ;)

Leave a Reply

